PDA

View Full Version : Hunter Derby: A Discussion

RanchoAdobe
Sep. 16, 2009, 02:08 PM
Before I begin, for any of those who are wondering, yes I am an Amateur, yes I compete in the USHJA Derby classes, and yes I have top ten and even top five placings in the Derby classes. My concern with the new Derby specifications is not the new points awarded for the higher options (lets face it, the only way to be competitive in the Derby classes were to complete the higher jumps regardless of whether points were specified for doing so ), but rather with the impact the higher derby height will have on the Derby classes for the junior and amateurs who ride in the classes as well as the junior and amateurs who own the horses the professionals ride in the classes.

First, currently the Derby is an exciting class that draws huge amounts of spectators and brings exhibitors from “both worlds” to hunterland. People enjoy watching the beautiful hunters gallop around natural jumps in fabulous form. I fear that as the jumps reach the height of 4’3 (at least on the west coast) gone will be the true hunters that float across the ground and jump with their knees to their ears, and in their place will be the equitation horses and jumpers that have square knees and can adequately masquerade as a hunter when braided up. The majority of hunters jump 3’6 and the minority of the hunters compete in the 3’9 and 4’0 classes. Is it fair to ask these horses, with no practice classes, to jump up (in most cases) 9 inches higher than they are ever otherwise asked to do? I do not see the Grand Prix horses schooling during the week in the 1.30’s in preparation for the 1.50 class on Sunday. And, while the goal may be in the future to own horses that are purely “Derby” horses, currently the majority of these horses must also show in the regular hunter divisions at significantly lower heights during the week.