PDA

View Full Version : What type of spur?

KateKat
Sep. 15, 2009, 06:14 PM
Since I usually end up using a pair of someone else's spurs in my lessons...I figure its time to be a big girl and buy my own pair.

However, I'm not exactly sure what kind I should be getting. I really only need a pair to add a little oomph to my leg when horse isn't listening and add a some finesse to cues when needed. What would you recommend? Also, are they usually a one size fits all type of deal (in terms of width)?

Tuesday's Child
Sep. 15, 2009, 07:00 PM
If it is just a little oomph, I would go with something like a 1/2" Prince of Wales spur (http://tinyurl.com/luytn7 except they only have 3/4" and 1") or 3/4" if you need a bit more. I have no experience with the roller ball types (http://tinyurl.com/krj454) but they look like they'd be good too.
Width-wise is one size fits all, but is divided into ladies or mens.

dghunter
Sep. 15, 2009, 07:31 PM
Love the plastic/rubber roller spurs :yes: My horse likes them better as well since they are somewhat softer but still get the point across

KateKat
Sep. 15, 2009, 08:39 PM
what about knob spurs, more or less oomph than prince of wales and roller spurs?

mojo7777
Sep. 15, 2009, 09:01 PM
I use the knobs and like them, but my horse doesn't need much, just a little definition.

klmck63
Sep. 15, 2009, 09:55 PM
Just a note, I always get my dad to pull open or squish them as needed to customize fit :) I have a teeny tiny pair of tom thumb spurs that I think are child sized that fit just fine after being 'modified'!

Vixenish
Sep. 16, 2009, 01:30 PM
I consider the 3/4" prince of whales to be a versatile, middle-of-the-road type of spur. That said, I recently got a pair of the black roller balls, and I am in love with them because I've finally found something that doesn't cause bald rubs on my super thin-skinned TB. Agree with squishing them for a custom fit!

BAC
Sep. 16, 2009, 02:55 PM