PDA

View Full Version : Comments about OTTB pedigree?

Mali
Sep. 14, 2009, 06:19 PM
I picked up this little gelding in Feb. as a small hunter prospect. I'm no expert on TB bloodlines, or hunter bloodlines, and just wondered what might be good/bad about his pedigree? Let's just say he wasn't much of a runner..slower than molasses in January ;)

http://www.pedigreequery.com/cast+out2

Thanks!

harvestmoon
Sep. 14, 2009, 07:04 PM
Well, his fourth dam, Blade Of Time, produced the mare Kerala, who is the dam of Damascus. That's pretty cool. :D

vineyridge
Sep. 14, 2009, 07:13 PM
H/J lines for sure. Foolish Pleasure and Forty Niner are excellent.

MintHillFarm
Sep. 14, 2009, 07:16 PM
I think nicely bred, not sure hunter wise, but for the track... His Dad, Sunday Break was a Grade 2 winner by Forty Niner and won over $450,000. I think he is in France now. His grandfather on his dam's side was Foolish Pleasure who won the KY Derby and other Grade 1's, he was also 2nd in the Preakness and Belmont...and prior to that 2 Year Old Champion. He won over 1.2 million. His mom, Chilly Lilly was unplaced in 3 starts.

harvestmoon
Sep. 14, 2009, 07:38 PM
Also has a half brother by Boundary that won $900,000+ in Japan.

EquineRacers
Sep. 14, 2009, 07:43 PM
The only thing I really see is that Storm Cat. Sometimes the Storm Cat lines the horses can be a bit difficult to deal with. VERY smart, but bosey, arrogent, stubborn, etc. You'll have to report back to us and tell us what you think of him!

Mali
Sep. 14, 2009, 08:21 PM
The only thing I really see is that Storm Cat. Sometimes the Storm Cat lines the horses can be a bit difficult to deal with. VERY smart, but bosey, arrogent, stubborn, etc. You'll have to report back to us and tell us what you think of him!

He is VERY smart, not too bossy, and is super easy! I never (in a million years) would've thought I'd end up with a TB, but I absolutely am in love with him! I'm hoping he's my "old lady" horse...and so far, he is.

SleepyFox