PDA

View Full Version : Bridle/Bit Photo - Don't understand - COTH mag

grayarabs
Sep. 12, 2009, 03:46 PM
There is a photo of training level horse/rider 8/8/9 issue of COTH page 40.
Young rider/horse. Mare is Friesian-paint cross - black with bald face.
I studied the photo and could not see the throatlatch of bridle.
It is there (shown on another photo online). Anyway, kept looking at the photo and thought that perhaps it is tough to find a bridle for a horse with markings like the mare's.
(Zia). Somehow, I think the bridle shown is a bit overwhelming for the mare.
The bit and rings - I don't know - seems to me the ring (due to much of bit being seen left side of mouth) seems awful far from mouth and close to front of neck. (rider mentions in article that mare is heavy on left rein). Dunno - just something about that bridle I don't like/understand. I suppose I was prompted to look more closely after having read the article, "Not Picture Perfect" in the letters section (p50) where that writer wrote about bridles.
I found URL with more photos:
http://www.sheriscottphotography.com/galleries/cds_no_jrs_2009_n-v/index.htm
(rider last name starts Va). (photo 809-108-014 is the one shown in COTH mag).
Perhaps that "fit" is the norm and I just never thought about it before.
Optimum "connection" is possible as shown?

yellowbritches
Sep. 12, 2009, 05:26 PM
I'm not sure what you are seeing. What I see is a properly adjusted bridle and what looks like a horse/rider who hangs on the left rein. Looks awfully familiar to me, since my horse and I are in a constant state of working on the same issue (and I've had some dressage pictures that look similar to this little mare's). If you click through the pictures you'll see a few where one or the other or both have let go of the left rein, and the bit sits properly in the mouth.