PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for counting?

austin
Sep. 11, 2009, 02:25 PM
right now trying to do 3s and 4s. but I am always a stride late in asking. It is almost as if I need to say, 1, 2, prepare, change. or as if to do 4s I need to try to do 3s and to do 3s I need to try to do 2s.

I when I do it right, my horse does too. he is not late, he changes when I ask.

though we are learning together, he is ahead of me. I have read several books, and my wonderful instructor is trying to help me. but thises things come more naturally to some than others. I need some ideas from those who also might be challenged, or who had to work through this problem.

and normally I can count. I am a CPA. :)

carovet
Sep. 11, 2009, 03:14 PM
i had the same issue initially, i think lots of people do. and lots of us foudn 4's to be the hardest even in just learning horses...

first, i practiced cantering across the diagonal without actually doing the change, but practicing the count, the change of bend, and the "not change" so that i got in the rhythm better. i think my brain tended to say 1,2,3,4,change and so i ended up asking just a second after my brain said 4...so i modified to 1,2,change bend, now.....1,2,change bend, now....

when i was going around the short end i would start the same 1,2,change bend,now rhythm in my head before i turned to the diagonal so that my brain was geared in ahead (i still have to do that in my brain for 1's) though that will make you not be a centered initially for the sequence...but it made a big difference when i was learning..

i didn't worry about keeping the count of how many changes i had done at first, just the rhythm of the sequence