PDA

View Full Version : OTTB critique - potential project horse

JCIbarra
Sep. 11, 2009, 01:08 PM
This guy is a 2 y.o. 16 hd gelding that I'm thinking of getting as my next project horse. What do you think?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/JCIbarra/Pancho3.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v625/JCIbarra/Pancho1.jpg

Threedaydream
Sep. 11, 2009, 01:11 PM
Wow! I would buy him!

TrotTrotPumpkn
Sep. 11, 2009, 01:12 PM
The only thing I don't love is his throatlatch, but I really like him. I bet he grows more too.

tBHj
Sep. 11, 2009, 01:13 PM
I'm not a confirmation expert but...

He looks straight in the stifles, and in those pictures his neck looks a little bit short. Other then that he looks like a handsome lad.

Petstorejunkie
Sep. 11, 2009, 01:19 PM
A wee bum high, and straight through the hind leg (some of this looks to be from the way he's standing or heel height, in on a blackberry so its hard to tell) other than that I like him

BK to some
Sep. 11, 2009, 01:31 PM
he's a little bit goose-rumped. sort of high at the croup but low tail head placement. smallish hocks, thick in the throat latch,

Hauwse
Sep. 11, 2009, 02:01 PM
I guess it depends on what your discipline(s) is/are.

Do not see any glaring conformation flaws, though I would like to see him head on, and from behind.

He is only 2 so, if it is not just the picture, his being a little downhill will change. For me, which is not really a flaw in his case, more a personal preference, is that I like a lot more in front of me, and though his neck is not short, I would prefer more neck. I would like to see bigger, flatter hocks, a little more gaskin, a slightly lower stifle, which I guess all together equates to a little more angle in his hind end, as he is just a little camped out.