PDA

View Full Version : Chauffering a Judge - What to Say

razalter
Sep. 11, 2009, 12:02 PM
I'm pretty new to dressage, coming over from hunterland. I like to be involved, and since I'm not showing either of my green horses, I try to volunteer as much as possible. I think its a great way to get to know the community, I like making myself useful, and its also a good way to learn.

This weekend, I'm playing chauffer for the judge, including back and forth to the airport, which is about an hour drive.

I'm very comfortable talking to strangers, especially about horses, but are there any subjects that are just NOT appropriate to discuss with a judge? Obviously I know that gossip about riders/trainers/other judges is an absolute no-no, and I don't know enough dressage people to know any gossip anyway. And I definitely know to stay away from the controversial popcorn and wine consuming train wrecks subjects I've read here on COTH to know what those are, but are there any other Taboos? I certainly don't want to spend an hour in the car torturing the poor woman with silence or talk about the weather, LOL!

Gosh, though, wouldn't it be fun to ask her about Rollkur and Crank and Spank! Ah well, I have a sick sense of humor. :cool::cool:

seabreeze
Sep. 11, 2009, 12:08 PM
Considering judges are people, too, I would think any sort of pleasant conversation about myriad topics would be appropriate. Family? Vacation spots? Books?

Enjoy the time with another regular human with a common interest.

Tamara in TN
Sep. 11, 2009, 12:08 PM
This weekend, I'm playing chauffer for the judge, including back and forth to the airport, which is about an hour drive.

I had the great honor to keep a Welsh judge and his wife (both flown in from Wales)entertained and away from the show til his classes the next day once years ago

I did a good enough job that the folks at the show thought his wife and I went back as friends for years :) we still stay in touch via email