View Full Version : Experiences with those elastic rein insert thingies?

Sep. 9, 2009, 02:05 PM
You know those elastic rein inserts (http://www.rein-aid.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=28)?

I am curious about them and am wondering if people who have experiences with them, either by using themselves or with their students, could share them.

I would prefer this to not devolve into a thread where people who have never used the product personally or even seen anyone else using them take over the thread.

I am just curious about people's actual experiences, for better or worse.

Sep. 9, 2009, 02:17 PM
I have some and used them briefly on a young horse. I think their best applications are a young/problem horse who may be reluctant to take contact with the bit, or with a rider who has problems keeping their hands quiet.

They can be helpful in 'getting over the hump' in the above cases. They are not legal for showing, tho.

Sep. 9, 2009, 02:17 PM
I am a beginner Dressage rider, when I first started made the switch from hunters to dressage I had a hard time learning how to get my horse on the bit. My trainer says my horse has probably the most sensitive mouth of an upper level horse that she has ever ridden, and when I was learning about connection my hands bobbled sometimes. Werther was not very forgiving of this and it would take a long time or me to get the connection back. I used the rein aids for a few week, because it would absorb the movement when my hands bobbled, I was able to stay consistently connected while I learned what contact felt like. On the negative side, it makes everything very "spongy" which can make turning and stopping difficult for a novice. If the horse is a little hot, I might try them while you are on a lunge line first.

Sep. 9, 2009, 02:20 PM
The reins with built-in elastic are legal for showing.

Sep. 9, 2009, 02:28 PM
I love them for young horses for line driving and lunging so they can feel the give and not feel restricted.