PDA

View Full Version : Scholarship criteria for NCAA equestrian scholarships

OdhinnsMom
Sep. 3, 2009, 08:59 PM
Not for me...I graduated way to long ago :eek:, but I am the sponsor of my high school's equestrian team. I know what I think the general scholarship candidate's riding resume looks like, but would love to have some concrete info to present to parents who ask me. Thanks!

justathought
Sep. 3, 2009, 09:25 PM
Here is probably the best reference you can give parents:

http://www.ncaa.org/wps/ncaa?key=/ncaa/NCAA/Academics+and+Athletes/Scholarships+and+Internships/Undergraduate+Athletic+Scholarships

Tollriffic
Sep. 3, 2009, 09:30 PM
My packet contained a short resume with academic highlights and equestrian highlights. More importantly though is the DVD. That is what is going to get the coaches attention. My dvd included flatwork including no stirrups and lateral movements on 2 horses, 3 foot or so courses on 2 others and a 3'6" handy hunter on my own horse. If you can find the article Anne Lang wrote for the Chronicle a while back it is very helpful.

OdhinnsMom
Sep. 3, 2009, 09:53 PM
Thanks! I guess I am looking a bit more for what type of background do most of the scholarship winning riders have. Have most of them competed in national level events, like pony finals/medals classes/McClays or had success at the big AA shows?

Tollriffic
Sep. 3, 2009, 10:01 PM
Most have a strong background in the "AA"s. Different schools will look for different things. Some wont look at you if you don't have lots of BigEq mileage but others are willing to take a chance if they think you'll be good for their team. Keep in mind each team is only given 15 full scholarships and generally those are divided between different team members so very few, if any, are on full scholarship.

showmom858
Sep. 4, 2009, 10:47 AM