PDA

View Full Version : New to Jumping

pwrpfflynn
Sep. 3, 2009, 03:52 PM
I have just started jumping and I have a 1/2 Arab/NSH that has just starting jumping as well. We both started in June. I have been riding Saddle Seat for over 20 years and my horse has been doing Hunt (flat work) for 5 years. He is 9 now. We are having a timing issue. He wants to jump everything (which is nice) but he jumps too early and too big sometimes and pulls me out of the saddle. I have fallen once and got a concussion. One trainer tells me to tighten up and half halt him to keep him under control right to the fence and then release him to jump the other tells me to leave him on a loose rein and let him figure out on his own where to take off at. He is usually good on the first jump but wants to jump big on the second one sometimes. When we canter he seems fine but don't think I should skip this control step for the future if we start jumping bigger jumps. What do you guys suggest?

make x it x so
Sep. 3, 2009, 04:24 PM
I don't know if it's possible in your situation, but seeing as you are BOTH green to jumping, I would recommend finding a nice schoolie that knows the ropes so that you can learn YOUR timing on a safe horse, and then you'll be in a better position to teach your horse and set him up for the proper striding.

Also, I would discuss with your trainers their conflicting messages. Why are you training with 2 different trainers in the same discipline? Both of their approaches are valid in certain situations, but I would think it would be very confusing to both you and your horse to have a different strategy each time you jump.

HunterJumperLuv
Sep. 3, 2009, 07:25 PM
Aside from what was posted above, if you're looking directly for "training" techniques, my answer would be:

Gymnastics
Gymnastics
Gymnastics

oh and also

Gymnastics.

They are gods gift to greenies. ^^ Enjoy your new found fun with jumping!