PDA

View Full Version : likelihood of falls in dressage vs H/J?

superpony123
Aug. 27, 2009, 02:03 AM
I wandered over from H/J land because i was wondering if there's really much of a big difference in likelihood/amount of falls from H/J to dressage, due to the lack of jumping in dressage.

Obviously, just because there's no jumping does not mean a horse can't have an absolute fit or take off or spook or buck or do anything a H/J horse could do on the flat.

However I find that 90% of my falls are from jumping. Maybe the manner in which you generally fall just depends on your experience? I've been thrown countless bucks in my riding life, and none of them have ever gotten me on the ground. emergency dismounts have happened a few times, and also occured on-course. When i try to think about it really hard, less than 5 falls have occured on the flat. I've only been riding for 6 years, though. All of those falls were when i was a beginner (like learning to canter! haha)

So, there's my quesion: for those of you who have done the H/J as well as dressage, do you find that your falls are much rarer in dressage due to lack of jumping?

I'm simply curious, and not insisting HJ is 'harder' or 'more dangerous' or anything just because of jumping. :) I've just kind of always wondered. I know the danger is just the same, but I'm more interested in the actual likelihood. for example, I've never been to a dressage show. How often does a fall occur at a dressage show? I know at roughly every h/j show i've ever been to, there's been at least one fall. at the bigger shows where there's a bajillion divisions, I'll see multiple falls everyday. I'm just wondering how things compare?

mypaintwattie
Aug. 27, 2009, 02:08 AM
I think its about the same- of course in my case I seem to have fallen off more riding dressage than H/J! Just because you are not jumping doesn't mean the risk isn't there.

lewin
Aug. 27, 2009, 02:23 AM
For me:

HJ falls: 5; 2 over fences

Dressage falls: 1