PDA

View Full Version : How to keep your top hat on?

austin
Aug. 11, 2009, 10:57 PM
mine is rather short and flew off in my last show in the extended canter. I am new to the top hat thing. I have the little stretchy strap but I would rather not use it. :)

Pony Fixer
Aug. 11, 2009, 11:13 PM
So the little stretch strap goes under your bun (if you have one). Also, in the women's hair section you can sometimes find these head band things that are thin (like 1/2 inch) and have a rubbery strip down the middle on both sides. If you put that round your head and your hat over, it helps by sticking to the rubbery bits.

Carol O
Aug. 11, 2009, 11:56 PM
I asked this once. Among the very helpful suggestions were:
Staples
Nails
Panty liners

Apparently, the panty liners were for real. Don't use the other stuff.

jcotton
Aug. 12, 2009, 12:16 AM
I have short hair so the elastic on the tophat doesn't work for me. My hat is the correct size. For insurance, I take a piece of duct tape about 5-6 inches, fold it upon itself and put that in the front of the tophat on the leather band. That keeps the hat on except for serious wind. I also heavily hairspray my hair, too.

Dressage Art
Aug. 12, 2009, 01:19 AM
Hat that is 1 size smaller. Forget the pain, at least it stays on!

PS: I like the idea of duct taping your top hat to your forehead :lol: probably better than nails ;)

Mach Two
Aug. 12, 2009, 01:24 AM
Slide a couple of straight hairpins into your sweat liner (go between the stitching, so the part of the pin with the angled end goes under the sweatband between it and the body of the hat) and capture some hair as you slide it in.

LD1129
Aug. 12, 2009, 10:18 AM
We hair spray my trainers head then stick it on. Usually stays put, although hers is a bit tight.

trooper345
Aug. 12, 2009, 10:50 AM