PDA

View Full Version : Okay, where to start?

ontarget
Aug. 6, 2009, 05:06 PM
I have recently been very generously handed two horses with full ability to go compete at the GP level jumpers (although one is out of commission at the moment while his feet grow out...). I am an amateur rider, but have been toying with the idea of going pro since technically I should already be one, and I really don't see a benefit to doing junior/amateur classes anymore. I have a trainer, but she lives in Southern CA and I am riding/going to school in Southen PA. I have the ability and my horses have the ability, but honestly, I'm not sure of where to go from here. I have always had a trainer by my side telling me what to do, but now I have developed many of my own techniques and disagree with a lot of what trainers in my area are teaching. But now that I'm going my own way, I'm beginning to doubt myself and whether I'm doing the right thing. The pressure is definitely on now that I have two mounts, one who is totally capable and could be a world cup contender in a couple years with the right direction.

So I guess the question is, what do I do now? If you have been in my place, what did you do? What people did you need by your side to get your feet up off the ground and going? My trainer keeps harping at me over the phone that I cannot do this alone, that I need a "team," but what is that team, exactly? Is having a groundsperson (among the other usual professionals ie farrier, vet, chiro, etc) enough? Can I be my own groom?

I'm looking to hear from other people who have been in my place. What did you do and how did you get started?

Timex
Aug. 6, 2009, 05:18 PM