PDA

View Full Version : Tall Riders and Their Mounts

luv2ride113
Aug. 5, 2009, 05:05 PM
First, let me say that I am a beginner and I don't mean for this topic to offend anyone. I just read this month's USDF Connection and the inside front cover really got my attention. It shows Debbie McDonald on Brentina and Adrienne Lyle on Felix. We all know that Debbie McDonald is a petite rider. However, her legs appear to be far enough on Brentina to give effective aids. I also believe that Debbie uses a lot of subtle seat aids when she rides. On the other hand, it appears that Adrienne Lyle is waaay too tall for Felix. Are riders' legs supposed to hang so far down below the horses' sides? I'm sure that Adrienne's primary means of communicating with Felix involves her seat as well, but it's just not a pretty picture to me. She looks too tall for this horse. Also, shouldn't dressage riders have some bend in their knees? By the way, I'm not implying that tall riders should all ride super tall horses, but there should be some consideration given to size and height when selecting your mounts. Any opinions?

rabicon
Aug. 5, 2009, 06:13 PM
I'm not going to show a pony anytime soon probably except my daughters 14.2 H pony just to help her and him, but its not really to compete persay. I'm not that tall at 5'7 1/2 but I do have a lot of leg so I like them to be atleast 15.2 and can fill up my leg okay.

Bravestrom
Aug. 5, 2009, 06:19 PM
I love big horses, my main horse is 17.1, my 2 yr old colt is already 17.2. I am 5'7"

My boys are both 6'+ - one rides a 17.2hh sport horse and one rides a 16.2hh mare and is training another 16.2hh mare. Most of our horses are 16.3+ and nothing in the barn less than 16.2.

Its just our personal preferences but I do think my 6'2" son would look funny on a 14.2hh - 15hh horse.

It just looks so much better when a larger rider is on a larger horse and I would think the balance comes into play too.

bigyellowmoose
Aug. 5, 2009, 06:29 PM