PDA

View Full Version : Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups

NEHunter
Aug. 2, 2009, 03:23 PM
I am thinking of getting Herm Sprenger System 4 Stirrups I have read that they reduce the pressure on your knees and back. Do these really work? What are the pros and cons on these? Thanks so much for all of the input.

sp56
Aug. 2, 2009, 04:37 PM
I'm not a fan of jointed stirrups at. all. I get really frustrated with the constantly moving stirrup and find it harder to keep my weight in my heel. I notice that I tend to balance more on my toe when riding in the jointed stirrups. I could just be a weirdo (no surprise there) but you have to try them to see if it's the right thing for you.

The only time I like jointed stirrups is when I'm sitting on a dressage horse with a ton of suspension.

RyuEquestrian
Aug. 2, 2009, 06:37 PM
I've been riding with mine for 8 years and absolutely love them. When I rode in the intercollegiate and got on school horses, whose saddles didn't have jointed irons, I immediately felt the difference in my knees. Despite their cost, I think they are a good investment and my original pair has lasted for years and years! It is true that there is some movement, but I got used to it quickly and now can't even notice. On the contrary, I notice when I ride in the non-jointed Stirrups how inflexible they are and sometimes they now give me shin splints.

allybox
Aug. 2, 2009, 06:50 PM
I absolutely LOVE mine! They are so comfortable, and help me keep my heels down and leg on in my not so comfortable tall boots. My knees always kill after I ride in my friends saddle that has plain unjointed irons.
I also love the way the black irons look :cool:

they seem to run small because the coating takes up space though, so make sure you order a big enough size

forestergirl99
Aug. 2, 2009, 07:45 PM
You want to buy me a pair while your at it? haha.