PDA

View Full Version : Faded hunt caps?

mg
Jul. 30, 2009, 10:41 PM
I feel like I belong in the HJ forum asking a "fashion" question, but alas I am still pretty new to dressage and am afraid of making a gross faux pas.

I recently got a hunt cap off ebay which I am IN LOVE with. However, it is the kind made from real velvet so it's faded brown from the sunlight. It's still pretty dark and you can barely see the brown in certain low-light situations, but the brown color is definitely there. I've always been under the impression that you match your hat and coat in dressage. I have a black jacket...would it be okay to wear my hunt cap with this? I'd very much like to wear a cap in shows and will buy an additional one that's not faded if I have to, but I won't if I don't!

Thanks in advance :)

merrygoround
Jul. 31, 2009, 03:48 PM
I don't know if it's still the "in" thing but at one time faded velvet hunt caps were worn by all the "not so rich but fairly famous riders". :) Sort of emblematic of time in the saddle. Now all that lot is wearing $500+ helmets of all sorts of expensive metals.

See what the "fashionistas" have to say. ;)

chancellor2
Jul. 31, 2009, 03:57 PM
I don't think anyone is going to look at what color your hunt cap is. Go for it.

caddym
Jul. 31, 2009, 04:09 PM
I think that would look great. My own personal fashion sense is to wear a traditional black hunt cap with a snaffle briddle and a top hat with a double.

whicker
Jul. 31, 2009, 11:31 PM
My concern would be that the safety date hasn't expired. Check inside for the manufacture date and then check their website to make sure that the helmet hasn't decomposed from age. As long as the helmet will actually save your head, you are good to go. The new air vented ones are much cooler, though.

Hampton Bay
Aug. 1, 2009, 03:42 PM