PDA

View Full Version : Another person moving to NoVA...

Balloon
Jul. 29, 2009, 03:29 PM
Hey all,

I am a very experienced rider riding at about second/third level looking to move close to Manassas (probably, although I am still exploring areas) and will be in an office just outside DC. Although I have a horse, he is just a baby so I'm hoping to find someone that I could train with during the week in the evenings that has some upper level type school horses. I'm a pretty serious amateur that would love to get in some shows and get some serious training.

I would also love to find someone in the area that needs horses ridden! I will be looking through the rideless/horseless thread as well....

I know there have been a few posts recently about trainers in NoVA, Middleburg etc, but I wanted to set up a separate thread as it looks like there a lot of recommendations that go through PMs.

Thanks everyone!

hoser1
Jul. 29, 2009, 06:11 PM
Welcome to the area! I would start by urging you to reconsider moving to the Manassas (or even Centerville) area and trying to commute to near DC. We lived on the DC side of Warrenton and commuted to McLean and DC for 4 years and it was pure hell for driving - Rt. 66 is a very frustrating commute. If I were you, I'd look at Loudoun if you want to be closer to the country. We moved to western Loudoun 2 years ago and my husband still commutes to McLean. Though it is a long drive and not without traffic, he has the option of the Greenway ($$ but a timesaver) and the commute is just better in general. There are also a number of excellent dressage professionals in Loudoun who would have what you are looking for - I'm sure you will get suggestions here. There are some good people in the Fauquier area too (past Manassas) but for me the commute was just not bearable. Good luck - this is a wonderful area for all that is horsey.

Balloon
Jul. 29, 2009, 06:27 PM
Thanks Hoser1!