PDA

View Full Version : Please critique this video!

short_stack
Jul. 3, 2009, 04:29 PM
I haven't ridden in about six years (took time off in college and grad school) and now, at 24, I am getting back in to the swing of things. I have been riding for about two months and I am currently leasing the quarter horse mare shown in the video. She is 14 years old , used to be a western trail horse, and began jumping a year ago. She is currently owned by a 14 year old girl who likes to get up and go so she is a challenge for me because I am trying to break her bad habits (not bending, pulling, rushing fences, etc.). Thanks for your constructive criticism :)

Its a very short video, just one jump!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gt4Xi5aQSuk

jumperlover101
Jul. 3, 2009, 04:38 PM
try not leaning forward as much. It usually tells horses "GO!" and to not slow down and relax.

I wouldn't have believed that you took 6 years off if you hadn't said it, so props for that!

kateh
Jul. 3, 2009, 06:14 PM
I feel your pain! I'm also riding an ex-Western QH mare that was most recently leased by a 13 year old.

Agree with the lean back, also pick your eyes up around the turn and keep her straight. I think your stirrups could go up a hole, but it was hard to tell from the lighting.

equest
Jul. 3, 2009, 10:28 PM
I agree that stirrups should go up at least one hole. You look really good to my intermediate-level eye. My biggest comment (and this is largely based on my own experience/weakness) is that your leg is coming forward and needs to be strengthened. This is a challenge to most riders, and it is always tough to come back to riding and reestablish these muscles.
Work on it by posting trot without stirrups, and two-point several times around the ring at the trot during each hack. If you are riding often and practicing this consistently, your leg will improve.

Czar
Jul. 4, 2009, 08:56 AM
Definitely stirrups up a hole.