PDA

View Full Version : Attracting New Students

sanctuary
Jun. 26, 2009, 11:26 PM
I have been teaching at a farm for the past 7 years. Over the years we have seen the normal fluctuations in the number of students (less in winter, more in spring/summer etc). This year though, it just seems harder than ever to attract new people in. I know a lot of it has to do with the economy. But how do you manage to attract new students (including rank beginner up/downers)? Or what programs do you offer to help keep the cash flow going?

Carol Ames
Jun. 26, 2009, 11:30 PM
Sell them blocks of lessons and, if they "renew":winkgrin: their "subscription before it expires:lol: a discount on the next set

2DaPoint
Jun. 27, 2009, 07:08 AM
You really have to monopolize on the "camp" thing.
Advertise more obviously at places like the grocery store and other places parents of younger children frequent.
From what I've seen of the summer camp being run out of the facility where I work, there's no shortage of people who will spend money on their darlings!
It's all in the marketing.

shanky
Jun. 27, 2009, 07:22 AM
Besides the summer camp angel, which is a great one, you can talk to local girl scout troops - they still have horse related "badges" that they can earn. Small groups of girls come in, earn their badges, but end up getting bit by the horse bug and then sign up for lessons.

BeaSting
Jun. 27, 2009, 08:05 AM
One thing I've noticed, especially in my area, is a lack of any effort to promote local horse shows outside of the local horse community. I've specifically asked one of the local clubs why didn't they advertise their shows in the local newspaper's upcoming events/entertainment section. It's usually free.

If you can get people out to your shows .... If you make the shows a bit more accessible to non-riders ....and if you make available information on where to sign up for riding lessons - it's possible you may get results.