PDA

View Full Version : Seeing and riding to your spot.....

Private Diamonds
May. 19, 2009, 07:44 PM
I have been riding for almost 2 years now and have come so far in such a short period of time, for that I am thrilled.

I am having the hardest time riding to my spots, I can see them, but for the life of me cannot determine weather to press the horse on or hold her back to get to it.

My trainer has been a saint trying to help me ,but there is some mental block that is keeping me from getting this.

HELP! :confused:

gg4918
May. 19, 2009, 08:12 PM
Its been said time and time again, the best way to practice is to set poles on the ground and just to experiment finding your distance. Experiment with riding up, taking it back a little, or just maintaining your pace. Try doing it on different horses if you can, that way youll get a feel for what youll want to do with a different length of stride (i.e. short strided horse or big rangy strided warmblood)
2 years is a short time to have been in the saddle, I only JUST learned how to properly see and ride to my distances about 3 years ago...I've been riding for 13! Once you get it though everything else comes very quickly (Moved from 2'6" to 4'3" in those 3 years!). It all comes with experience and time.
Good luck!!

fourmares
May. 20, 2009, 02:28 AM
Come out of the corner and start counting. Don't worry about what number you get to.

The best thing you can do is maintain the pace and balance that you had in the corner. Most people have trouble with this, but if you can do it you will almost always get there right. When you start fussing you mess up the distance much of the time.

Addison
May. 20, 2009, 07:55 AM
If you see your distance than you don't need to do anything other than support the pace and maintain your path to the jump. It is when your slowing down, speeding up or not going straight that you need to "do something".

Treasmare2
May. 20, 2009, 07:58 AM