PDA

View Full Version : critique please

jrrider
May. 16, 2009, 03:46 PM
I haven't been on coth in ages as I am now a busy working student, but I was hoping to get a critique and possibly some help with the greenie that I'm currently working with. He's either 5 or 6 (some debate about that) and I am absolutely in love with him. He's a great jumper, but he likes to swap leads in front of the jump and I really don't know how to fix that. Also please critique me and tear me to shreds. I really need it!
http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot/KCA0NgZO_VzRTVvskLoXLg?feat=directlink

rabicon
May. 16, 2009, 03:52 PM
No photos

jrrider
May. 16, 2009, 03:56 PM
http://picasaweb.google.com/mduff421/Harvey#
also an example of his lead swapping http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOqnH9Quf_U

jrrider
May. 17, 2009, 03:07 PM
bump :)

jetsmom
May. 17, 2009, 03:23 PM
Looks like he's throwing his shoulder out as you come out of the turn. I'd spend a lot of time on flat work, and blocking his soulder with an indirect rein. Also working on serpentines where you are very straight in the center then changing the bend (at the trot).

Placing ground poles as a chute before the jump would help IF he were swapping right before the jump, but he is swapping just after the turn. Slowing down a little and really riding the turn, concentrating on keeping your outside leg against him, and not leaning will help.

Jumping a small jump on a circle will also help. Concentrate on rhythm, and keeping bend.

My overall impression of the video was that it looks like you are chasing him and erratic, with no control over where his body is.

He's cute, but I'd work on relaxation and control of his body.

joiedevie99
May. 17, 2009, 03:39 PM