PDA

View Full Version : What to charge for riding barnmate's horse?

GPSM
May. 4, 2009, 01:31 PM
I am an amateur rider who has been asked by a barnmate to ride their young horse for them. This is not really a training situation; this is more of a "keep the horse going so no one gets killed" situation (yes, my skills are adequate to handle this horse). Barnmate will be paying me for riding this horse, but I don't know what to charge, because once again, this is not really a training situation, and in terms of skill level, I am not professional level. Thoughts?

Yes, I am aware that this will make me a professional. I am not competing any time in the near future, nor am I a member of USEF, so this is not a problem. Please do not turn this into a "shamateur" discussion, as this is not the situation.

dghunter
May. 4, 2009, 01:32 PM
As a junior, my old trainer would pay me between $15-$20 to hop a horse and hack it around a bit.

TB Fan
May. 4, 2009, 01:42 PM
A few summers ago, I needed my TB exercised one extra day a week for his sanity and my safety. Work was crazy and I couldn't work in the extra day. I paid one of the barn kids $10 a ride. I knew the rides were quick and not training rides so I felt it was a fair amount at the time.

used2
May. 4, 2009, 01:44 PM
There are plenty of qualified juniors and amateurs who would do it for the experience.

The going rate from a pro isn't a help to you in determining a fair value.

In your position you might want to ask yourself what is it worth to the horse's owner.

TrotTrotPumpkn
May. 4, 2009, 01:58 PM
There are plenty of qualified juniors and amateurs who would do it for the experience.

In your position you might want to ask yourself what is it worth to the horse's owner.