PDA

View Full Version : Does this look like a testicle to you??

wlrottge
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:18 PM
Ok, Trak/Dutch/TB cross "gelding", will be two in June. Was gelded as a yearling... but... WTF is this? DW says it feels like "a golf ball in a sock".

http://community.webshots.com/album/571555045kEbkhN

sid
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:27 PM
Yep...looks like a small testicle. Or, it could be a tumor. I'd have a good repro vet look at him right away.

RnR
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:29 PM
Definitely resembles one to me!

But I can't claim I am a horse testicle expert by any means. It would be my first guess though.

wlrottge
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:31 PM
I've already sent the pics to my vet and will be contacting the vet that did the procedure tomorrow.

Lulu
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:32 PM
In my limited experience, I always take hard masses more seriously than squishy ones. Has this been slow-growing or did it appear quickly? I agree that you might want to have this assessed in the near future to be safe.

wlrottge
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:38 PM
DW "cleaned him" ~3 months ago and definitely does NOT remember that being there. We just noticed it ~1hr ago.

movo
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:41 PM
My gelding got one of those at 12 years old. It just appeared one day, but was bigger. It is an inguinal hernia. My vet thought it was a testicle, but when he got into it, it was not.

<<<The inguinal hernia is created when a piece of intestine slips down the area adjacent to the inguinal canal (the passage, just under the pelvis, that the stalk of the testicles travels from the abdomen to the scrotum) and dissects into the tissue between the hindlegs. The scrotal hernia is formed when the intestine slips down the inguinal canal and goes directly down into the scrotum (the sack of skin that houses the testicles).>>>

bluroan
Apr. 29, 2009, 07:47 PM