PDA

View Full Version : Appropriate Price For Embroidery

eqrider1234
Apr. 29, 2009, 03:31 PM
For christmas my parents bought me a Brother se350 which does sewing and embroidery, so I am in the process of embroidering all of my things. Many of the people at my barn have commented on them and mentioned that they wanted me to do their stuff too!

I would like to make a little buisness out of this. It isnt cheap and it adds up quickly and it is pretty time consuming but I dont mind it, I'm pretty crafty :cool: Anyways what do you feel are apropriate prices for:

Show Shirt Collars?
Baby pads?
Polo wraps?
shipping quilts?
Standing wraps?

I can't think of anything else.. but Im sure theres more, suggestions are welcome because I really don't know what to charge since i'm not a professional embroiderer by any means but would like to at least be able to cover my costs and make a little so I can save up for new horse stuff :lol::lol:

findeight
Apr. 29, 2009, 03:54 PM
Do you already own the basic text choices people would want embroidered, you know, on a dvd or tape, come with the machine, maybe? Or would you have to buy or have them made up?

How about sizes, you can usually go up or down about 35% size wise, any bigger(like for a blanket) or smaller (like for a hat) and you have to work off another dvd/tape.

Most embroiderers charge based on the number of stitches in the monogram, logo or name. They also base it on how many pieces are going in with the same design or name-for example, 9k stitches, 3"x3" logo, pre exsisting tape or dvd, left chest on a single shirt would be $12, be $6 if you have 12 or more pieces.

You run into more costs if you have to design or buy the logo from a designer, even common clip art has a cost to drop it and convert to a stitch pattern.

eqrider1234
Apr. 29, 2009, 04:02 PM