PDA

View Full Version : Update-I went to my first clinic- w/ Frank Madden!!! some pic's as well

bayknight
Apr. 26, 2009, 10:05 PM
For those of you who were waiting for an update from me after reading this thread:

http://www.chronicleforums.com/Forum/showthread.php?t=200744

I went ahead and took the plunge and did the clinic! This was my first clinic I have ever done since I started riding at the age of 9 and now I am 33:eek:!! I was never able to financially afford to go to a clinic and this is the first time I have ever been able to do so. I actually decided that this clinic I was not going to pass up on, and gave up quite a few horse shows that I would have been going to over the last couple of weeks. I signed up for the 2"6 session. ( I have been schooling at 3" but felt the lower session would be a bit more comfortable for us both)

The clinic was with Frank Madden. For those that don't know I took my horse to a horse show the weekend before ( he hadn't been off the property in over a year and a half) to just hang out and see how he was going to be. The long story short is that my horse was not good at the show at all!! I was pretty disappointed and was starting to think that going to the clinic was not a good idea. I posted the thread and received a lot of encouraging feedback to go to the clinic.

I decided to go and here is what I hope to make a short report for you all!
My horse was definitely up but he was of course happy eating all the grass that was in front of him. I chose a nice quiet spot by the indoor (where the clinic was being held) He was able to hear Frank talking and that didn't bother him at all. My husband shortly arrived after that to help me. I finished tacking him up and then headed to the outdoor ring to warm up. He was definitely "up" I trotted and cantered around a bit (he spooked a bit when we passed the rolltop), then trotted over some of the jumps. After that it was almost time for the next session to begin.