PDA

View Full Version : Grand Prix Jumper Care

BarleyTwist
Apr. 26, 2009, 11:09 AM
My horse will hopefully be going up to the grand prix level w/in the next 12 to 14 months. The vet mentioned it is another completely different level of care. I am new to this...what does that mean? He is already on supplements, etc. Where can I find info to read about grand prix level horses, their care, etc. - book titles, articles. I am new to this and would to have good background info as we this direction. Any suggestions, please.

heartinrye
Apr. 26, 2009, 11:27 AM
What level are you riding at now? The care shouldn't be any different unless you are jumping significantly lower right now.

PNWjumper
Apr. 26, 2009, 12:02 PM
I tend to add things on as my horses move up through the levels. But a lot of it is "as needed." For example, I tend to have my vet/chiropractor out more for my upper level horses. But that's often because they're making bigger efforts with their bodies and I want to make sure that they're not compensating for any stiffness or pain. I also up the conditioning schedule. My upper level horses get two-a-day rides throughout the show season, and are on a fairly rigid and consistent program from day to day.

For example, my greenie TB who's doing the 3'9" stuff currently gets a Glanzen supplement, a chinese herbal supplement at shows (similar to sore-no-more), and gets his legs wrapped (standing wraps) from the 3rd night on in regular wraps. He's on a one-a-day riding program and gets jumped more (generally speaking) at the height he's showing and above than my more finished horse since he's on his way up.

My AO Jumper mare gets the same supplements and she gets Back on Track wraps and a BOT sheet at shows from the first night of the show on. She also gets polyglycan before most shows. She's on a two-a-day conditioning program and jumps a lot of little fences and gymnastics, but rarely jumps at height at home.