View Full Version : When you never actually owned the pony..

Apr. 23, 2009, 01:00 PM
I used to ride at a sale barn. The trainer would go to the auction and bring back bunches of horses and ponies. I was well liked there because I was small enough to ride the ponies, yet had a good enough seat to were they couldn't get me off. I didn't like any of the ponies. They were bad on the ground, under saddle, and over fences was just plain crazy. I wasn't happy with anything I had ridden, until I started riding a little paint mare.

The first day I got on her, we did flatwork. She continuously tried to run into the fence, she had no steering what so ever. After the ride was over, the trainer was amazed at how well she had done. I didn't understand, I had thought she was awful, then the trainer told me it was the first time she had ever had a saddle on her back. I continued to ride her for months, she progressed at a rapid rate. On the ground she was less shy around people, she became much more trusting and loving. I rode her through her first lead change, took her over everything from ground poles to solid log jumps. I took her to her first schooling show, and it didn't matter that we had a melt down in the flat classes, she was fabulous in the jumping though.