PDA

View Full Version : Yarn color for black mane ?

MDPONYMOM
Apr. 22, 2009, 09:36 AM
So I am going to suck it up this year and braid DD's pony even for our local shows...

I have a question though about yarn color. I have always used black since she has a black mane, however, the one and only time I have splurged on a pro braider she suggested navy. Now this makes sense to me because obviously it would be easier to see - I am NOT a pro by any means and do find the black on black more difficult to work with.

So what's your personal preference - do you use black, navy or some other color for those black manes?

Background info - pony is a bright bay with moderate chrome including a sizeable blaze. DD wears a dark charcoal coat and charcoal GPA. (Was wondering about maybe using charcoal yarn???)

Please help... :)

mrsbradbury
Apr. 22, 2009, 09:40 AM
As a conservative, I would tell you to braid with black yarn. Navy would be acceptable if your daighter's coat was navy.

I am not sure about the charcoal yarn.

shawneeAcres
Apr. 22, 2009, 09:42 AM
I always use black on a black mane, why do you need to "see" the yarn? once it is braided in, it doesn't matter, you can "see" the excess hanging down to pull it thru and tie it and then you just need to snip it off, so not sure why you need to "see" it while braiding

GreystoneKC
Apr. 22, 2009, 09:42 AM
Black manes are fun because you can use different colour yarns if you like. Last week I did our very-plain-dark-bay PreChildrens horse in a lovely dark slate blue I've come to like on the black manes. I have been known to use that, navy, dark burgandy (which I also love on chestnuts), dark hunter green, and even orange (Halloween!) and red/green/gold twist (Chrismas!) on bays. I also love light grey, baby pink and baby blue on greys. As long as it's subtle and doesn't scream LOOK AT MY MANE!!!!!! I think you're good to go. Especially since your horse is already flashy, you don't want to overdo it.

MDPONYMOM