PDA

View Full Version : Poor equitation...

mom23monkeys
Apr. 12, 2009, 10:32 AM
I just started riding again (i'm almost 40!:eek:) and feel as if my equitation is awful. I am in lessons, but just really going over fences and not working on my position as much as I would like. (I have addressed this lightly with my current instructor and she doesn't seem to get what I'm getting at since nothing has changed.) I am wondering if you think that my position will just come from this or if I should maybe work with another instructor that may concentrate more on my equitation. I want to look good just trotting and cantering around the ring. Right now, I am embarrassed to be riding when others are out there...some of which is my own insecurities, but really, most is that I'm just not a natural and don't look good!!! I'm not sure how my current instructor would feel about this though, KWIM?

JB
Apr. 12, 2009, 10:41 AM
I would be looking for another instructor, period, especially since you have expressed concern about your position.

Good positioning, equitation, is far too often glossed over these days, and riders (and their horses!) end up suffering as a result more often than not.

You're right to be concerned, so yeah, I'd be looking for a new trainer.

ReSomething
Apr. 12, 2009, 11:43 AM
Your post rings so many bells for me, starting back after over 20 years. Looking back on it I may have been impossible to please. I felt the same way and had many frustrations but after 2 years my riding had substantially improved, and this in the face of my very hectic workload. Hacking or practice rides were very beneficial - even trail riding.