PDA

View Full Version : Consistency in riding - how to get out of a slump?

Hunter Mom
Apr. 9, 2009, 09:51 PM
How do you get consistent with your riding? I'm in a slump right now, and am getting really frustrated with myself.

to give you a little background, I am a 40-ish rerider, who is never going to do the "big shows." I am a mom, work full time and am on the curvy side. I started riding again in the spring of 07, did a couple of little shows that fall, bought a delightful mare who is a saint of a teacher that fall as well, and we do mainly local shows. We hit a few close-by rated shows, but stay at the 2'6" divisions. While we school up to 3' at home, she doesn't have the scope to get around a 3' course at a show.

Here is what I'm frustrated with - when we ride well, we win at the locals and get a ribbon at the bigger shows. However, lately I've been riding like poo-poo. I took an icky fall at the last show (rated) of the year last fall, and have worked on my confidence all winter. At our first local show of the year, we had a good day on Saturday. Blue ribbon good. VERY nice compliments from the judge good. Last weekend, I went to a local circuit show and you'd have thought I had ridden a week in my life. I flopped all over, caught my girl in her mouth, spaced out on course, etc. such is my life.

I love my horse. I love to ride. My 7 year old daughter rides as well, so it is a good thing for both of us. However, it gets hard when you get frustrated. I'm not going to get to show as much this year, so want to make the most of what I do get to do. How do you get back into your a game?:confused:

mvp
Apr. 9, 2009, 10:07 PM
I hear you. If you can't win at the game the way you are playing it now, change up the rules.

Here are my ideas:

Learn to change a bad riding day. This is really what separates the pros from the rest of us. This means that a whole show, division, even a whole class isn't determined by a bad fence or whatever.