PDA

View Full Version : When people don't pay

little miss
Apr. 8, 2009, 04:14 PM
So I'm sure that this is coming up more often these days --- when someone is not paying for either board or training of their horse(s).

1) How long do you give it?

2) What do you do if they continue to not pay?

3) At what point do you have the "right" (if at all) to sell their horse for the money owed?

gasrgoose
Apr. 8, 2009, 04:21 PM
I'm a boarder not a trainer, but I would think you would not have the right to sell their horse. But if it is your barn, you have the right to kick them out. Are the people that are slow paying or not paying also the most demanding? If so how much better would things be if they were gone.

Lucassb
Apr. 8, 2009, 04:33 PM
Depends on the state that you are in (and the laws for each state) as well as what your contract allows.

The contract at my current barn specifies that the owner can put a lien on the horse and sell it to recover monies owed for board or agreed upon services if those charges are not paid. The specific language says something like, "the manager may, at the manager's discretion and without process of law, retain said horse(s) until the indebtedness is paid in full and/or sell horses as provided for by law to recover such unpaid fees.."

findeight
Apr. 8, 2009, 04:33 PM
A business owner DOES have every right to sieze something placed in their care/custody/control when it is not paid for. It is sometimes called a mechanics lien or similar.

Each state has specific laws governing abandonment and siezure for non payment. You must abide by them as business owner.

Typically there must be a written contract and that contract should spell out how long non payment will be tolerated and what steps will be taken after that point to sieze the horse for non payment.

Most contracts also stipulate the horse does not leave their care/custody/control or thier property unless all outstanding bills are paid.