PDA

View Full Version : Barns In The Indianapolis Area (including carmel and zionsville)

diddlez66
Mar. 31, 2009, 08:35 PM
A long time ago I asked for everyone's barn recommendations in the Indianapolis area, but I am in need of the information once again.

I rode at Canterbury Manor for about two and a half years and then moved to Grandview but soon after I started riding there, they sadly switched to only giving lessons to their boarders. And since then (about a year) I have been riding at a friends personal barn without a trainer.

Obviously, I do not own my own horse so I am looking for a lesson barn that has decent prices and is friendly, clean and will let me show.

I do know of Bit Whip Farm and GEM Stables but I was hoping someone would have more info on them.

Thanks for your help!

harvestmoon
Mar. 31, 2009, 09:52 PM
Just a few off the top of my head:

Jimmy Williams (Wind Crest Farm)
Richard Rinehart (Rinehart Farm)
Robin Lawrence (Hunters Pointe Farm; www.hunterspointefarm.com)
Stefanie Collier (Collier's Lane; www.collierslane.com)

horsepix76
Apr. 1, 2009, 07:34 AM
Deer Run Stables--Hunters & Jumpers. Complete boarding & training facility. Bob Tweedlie, Trainer. Anne Eccles, Trainer. Riding instruction & horses for sale. 10113 N. 1075 E., Brownsburg IN 46112 (3 miles south of Zionsville). Call 317-290-0461.

IRUS Stables is in Lebanon. They're a sport horse discipline barn (dressage, eventing, jumpers). http://www.irus-stables.com/

Canterbury Manor is still there, but its probably not what you remember it being.

Bridle Oaks Farm is technically in Whitestown, which is pretty much Zionsville. (317) 769-3483

Dabney Reinhart (not related to Richard) runs a beautiful H/J barn on the north side of Brownsburg (maybe 10 minutes from Zionsville). I don't think she has a website. I'm trying to find her number.

Sport Horse Inc. is in Westfield - http://www.sporthorseinc.net/

Wild Air Farms - where the Traders Point Charity Horse Show is held every year.