PDA

View Full Version : Soaking Alfalfa cubes for a Cushing's horse

msj
Feb. 14, 2009, 06:40 PM
How long do I soak them before feeding them? I've never used them before. Also what is the ratio to water? I know with Beet Pulp, I use a 1:4 ratio with water.

I'm going to try the alfalfa cubes for my Cushings horse. Someone please tell me that's OK. :eek: The vet recommended trying alfalfa cubes to substitute for hay as the old guy is really quidding his hay and it might help with his loose stool. Current hay is mostly a soft grass hay and he's always quidded some but it's getting worse. Yes, I know to float his teeth but they were just done in April and Nov of last yr and I'm hoping he'll hold out till at least the end of March. I hate to ask the vet to do it when the weather is really cold and we are still below freezing. :(

1horse13
Feb. 14, 2009, 06:47 PM
1. I would soak them for a hour or two
2. Has he been tested for cushings?
3. Alfalfa cubes are probably fine

tpup
Feb. 14, 2009, 07:17 PM
If you soak in hot water, 1/2 hour works. I use Timothy/Alfalfa cubes from Triple Crown - I soak 1.5 pounds of dry cubes (I weigh them dry first) - I soak them in a 6 quart tupperware container and I fille the container 1/2 to 3/4 with water (after cubes are in). They fluff up nicely and fast. I sometimes add hot water and drive to my barn - 20-30 mins. away, and feed right away,and they are just fine.

I love the cubes and also love the fact my horse gets the extra water from soaking.

Sorry I can't answer the cushing's questions though!

MunchkinsMom
Feb. 14, 2009, 07:22 PM
I think the length of time depends on the density of the cubes, and if you break them up first or not.