PDA

View Full Version : Aging farm dog messing in the house - Anipryl?

PalominoMorgan
Jan. 14, 2009, 12:01 PM
My big dog is 10.5 year old spayed shepherd mix female. The past few weeks she's become incontinent. She was recently treated for a bladder infection and did clear up with medication. Now, she's making messes in the house and drooping little piece of stool. I've found a few that look like she just couldn't hold em in. She's also not been able to make it through the night and made a big mess on the rug by the backdoor.

This is entirely out of character for her. She's always been VERY good about her potty manners, but is aging quickly. I was even thinking lately that I was hoping she would make it until the ground thaws. She's been going downhill fast enough for me to think about letting her go before disaster strikes. (A huge emotional burden for me because she's been my rock since I graduated college.)

Anyway, I was reading online and came across some articles about Anipryl for dogs and its treatment use for "old dog" syndrome, which includes loss of bowel control. I'm off to the vet tomorrow with another of the pets so I will ask the vet about it then, but wondered if anybody has tried Anipryl or has suggestions for the older dog that is going downhill.

(We also have an almost 1 year old crawling around and health issues aside for the dog it won't be good for the baby to be crawling along and find a poop nugget.) I really don't want to let my old girl go yet. She still wants to be here and I can tell she's bothered that she can't control herself so I'm looking for answers to buy us more time together.

tradewind
Jan. 14, 2009, 02:14 PM