PDA

View Full Version : What to put on cement floor of loafing barn?

kj2H1D
Jan. 1, 2009, 01:58 PM
I'm new to having a "horse acreage" ... I have to say, it's great to have horses at home but there sure is a lot to learn!

Anyway, my property is really an old cattle operation so I have a loafing barn that the horses/donkey are using for shelter. It has a concrete floor and probably a good 6 inches deep of what is probably all old cow manure (with a number of good "fossilized" chunks so that kind of helps me identify it!) Last summer the bugs were exceptionally bad, which might have been partly influenced by area floods, but I'm thinking that for optimal fly management I should probably replace the current flooring with something not manure-based. What would be the best flooring to put over concrete (and how deep?) Right now it's a large area to cover (4 "bays", so I'm guessing about 80 feet long and 25 feet deep?) but I'm also thinking about walling off half of it to put in some stalls and a grooming area. If I do that, would the remaining 40 x 25 area be enough for 2 horses and a mammoth donkey?

Lots of questions, I know, but I'm afraid it's probably only the start! Thanks for your ideas! :)

Melissa.Van Doren
Jan. 1, 2009, 02:07 PM
Getting rid of that compacted cow poop will definitely help reduce your fly populations.

You can use textured mats over concrete (about $36/4'x6' section) or you could use stone dust, or sand. If you don't use mats, you'll need to make sure there is enough material depth that the horses don't scape down to the concrete (slippery and hard on joints).

If they all get along, your reduced space (after adding your stalls, etc.) should be plenty roomy for your three.

Bluey
Jan. 1, 2009, 02:22 PM
I have a 40' x 28' run in shed under the barn, the other 40' are 3 stalls with runs in front of them.
Since ours was an addition to our Quonset barn, we didn't have a middle aisle and stalls on each side.