PDA

View Full Version : Which product is the best anti-crack cream-balm for hands ?

Wanderluster
Dec. 31, 2008, 11:29 PM
For the new year a resolution to have prettier hands.:D

Chief2
Dec. 31, 2008, 11:34 PM
Neutrogena Norwegian Hand Cream.

fourmares
Dec. 31, 2008, 11:52 PM
Working Hands... you'll find it at the hardware store.

Also mix olive oil and salt to make a paste. Rub your hands with it for 2 - 5 minutes. Rinse with warm water and pat dry.

Simkie
Jan. 1, 2009, 12:01 AM
Also mix olive oil and salt to make a paste. Rub your hands with it for 2 - 5 minutes. Rinse with warm water and pat dry.

For cracked hands, olive oil and a coarse sugar might be less ... stingy. :)

TwoDreamRides
Jan. 1, 2009, 01:19 AM
In our house, we love Crabtree & Evelyn's Gardeners' Hand Therapy: http://store.crabtree-evelyn.com/gar47920.html

JER
Jan. 1, 2009, 01:53 AM
I have a lot of experience (20+ years) with this particular issue.

The best hand cream I've found -- by miles -- is Neutrogena Norwegian Formula Fragrance-Free.

That said, it's not enough to keep my fingertips from cracking. I take a lot of omega-3 oils daily -- currently I eat about 1/3 cup of flax seed as well as evening primrose oil capsules -- and that seems to keep the problem at bay. If I stop with the flax, my hands start to crack, badly. If I stop with the evening primrose oil, I get eczema around my eyes. (In case anyone jumps in here with attacks on alternative medicine, both of these oils were suggested by my allergy MD.)

tikihorse2
Jan. 1, 2009, 02:42 AM
I've had good luck with No Crack Cream (stupid name, yeah, but it really does work, and it smells good!)

http://www.nocrack.com

Get both day and night creams. They work very well!

Kim

county
Jan. 1, 2009, 07:32 AM
Bag Balm its used for dairy cattle to keep their utter and teats soft but also works great on human hands.

Hilary
Jan. 1, 2009, 08:09 AM