PDA

View Full Version : Ugh - mud.... what to do for t/o?

mbm
Dec. 24, 2008, 03:10 PM
so, this is my first year at my little slice of heaven..... i was unsure what the mud was going to be like... well it is slippery..... (for info i am renting so don't want to spend $$ at this point to put in gravel etc)

so... would adding compost help this? it seems to me this would just make the mud retain the water more? any other no cost/cheap ideas to keep the slippery-ness of the mud down?

what about making their t/o's smaller so they cant run? (one already twisted an ankle slipping)

is it better to turn them out on my grassy "pasture" and let them destroy it - at least then they would not be in mud?? if i did this how long would it survive? i have about 1.75 acres and 3 horses - 2 of which are OTTBS and they love to run.

should i just stop worrying and let them be in the mud? it isnt deep - just slippery and well - muddy.

2 of them do come in at nite so they do get a break - the other lives outside 24/7 - she tears the barn down if i try to bring her in.
(yes, i worry too much!!) help!

SMF11
Dec. 24, 2008, 03:54 PM
I can't answer all your questions, but my horses live out 24/7 and I have a small (roughly 100 x 200 foot) sacrifice dry lot. It gets really muddy and not much helps that. Sometimes I put shavings down in the worst spots but since sometimes the whole lot is muddy there isn't much point. I would not allow them into the big fields -- you will regret it, I think, when the big field gets destroyed, and then you'll be exactly where you are now, just on a bigger scale!

When it is very wet, I keep all five of my horses in the sacrifice lot until they can be on the big fields without destroying them.

In terms of what helps with mud, the answer is drainage. This won't help you, but I have two large fields. One is a hill. I can always turn out on that field days before my flat field because the water drains off the hill first.

Good luck!

goeslikestink