PDA

View Full Version : weaning a colt

fivehorses
Oct. 9, 2008, 10:46 AM
Ok, I know nothing about breeding, nor birthing or weaning.
I rescued a pony mare last fall, who according to 5 vets was absolutely not pregnant. Well, guess what, she was and I was surprised with a nice little colt. I have never even been around nor found any interest in this subject, since I never have had intentions of breeding. So, in this case, I am a total newbie.

He is coming 4 months, doing very well, has been out to pasture with mom and my oldest gelding. Halter trained and been handled and is a good colt.

I have no intentions of selling him, nor do I know any places where I could board him for weaning, nor do I want to. Mare was seriously abused and has no trust with people. In the year, she has come a huge long way, and is beginning to understand she will not be beaten and I actually believe she may turn around and really trust...I see signs that she is beginning to consider that. As a side note, I have made major efforts to not allow the colt to observe any fear based behavior in mom to rub off on him, and he is friendly, comes to you in the field, and a preety normal colt considering his dam and her trust issues.

So, can you folks share with me weaning 101, and if I can do this on farm.

I have three herds of horses here, one I would consider putting him in with. I could also put him in with my gelding who he's been with in their own separate pasture area.

Mom has never really given a hoot about the colt, no corrections, does her own thing, and if he wants to nurse, he has to come find her. So, I think/hope she will be fine with him being weaned. It is my elder gelding who is quite possesive of him in a very strong way. He is crazed if the colt is out of his site for a moment. Its quite strange, but thats another post! I worry more about the colt being weaned from my gelding(LOL).

If there are any good books out there too, I am more than happy to read.