PDA

View Full Version : Anyone not using starlight?



enjoytheride
Aug. 10, 2008, 06:53 PM
It isn't supported on my ancient computer! I can get the unenhanced feed but it keeps freezing, is it like this for anyone else or is it my processor/connection?

yaya
Aug. 10, 2008, 07:00 PM
I actually get a clearer picture without using Silverlight, and no pauses. With Silverlight, there are brief, momentary "blips" in the picture (not really freezing, just a split-second flicker) and the picture is blurrier, worse in the larger frame, but still blurrier in the small frame.

I can't get the commentary to update with or without Silverlight, so I stay without to get the better/smoother picture.

I would guess your troubles and mine both relate to processor/connection problems, because it seems others have no troubles with the commentary, and I don't get the freezing you do.

2 tbs
Aug. 10, 2008, 07:47 PM
I have a brand spankin new computer that won't show me video without Silverlight :rolleyes: No biggie, I downloaded it, but now I get those lil blips you are talking about yaya :rolleyes:

I haven't listened with the audio yet...plan to do that tonight when I'm watching stuff. If it's glitchy I'll just turn it off.

mbm
Aug. 10, 2008, 07:47 PM
yaya, did you delete silverlight from your computer? and the vids still work?

yaya
Aug. 10, 2008, 10:09 PM
I did delete it, and the videos still work.

arbeegirl
Aug. 10, 2008, 10:17 PM
For the first half hour the video was great. Now it just keeps stopping to buffer. Then a stupid GE ad. I am not sure what changed for me. I use Verizon Broadband for my internet and the single hasn't changed all night...still good.

Very annoying:mad:

SerenaGinger
Aug. 10, 2008, 11:09 PM
Any computer experts figured out a way to watch without downloading starlight? My really wonderful new Mac is too pristine to download and delete microsoft junk :)

wildswan
Aug. 11, 2008, 02:32 AM
I actually get a clearer picture without using Silverlight, and no pauses. With Silverlight, there are brief, momentary "blips" in the picture (not really freezing, just a split-second flicker) and the picture is blurrier, worse in the larger frame, but still blurrier in the small frame.

I can't get the commentary to update with or without Silverlight, so I stay without to get the better/smoother picture.

I would guess your troubles and mine both relate to processor/connection problems, because it seems others have no troubles with the commentary, and I don't get the freezing you do.

I'm not using Silverlight (I hate MS (add-ons), picture is great, but do have the commentary update problem. Just wanted to share that there are others out here with same problem.

ivy62
Aug. 11, 2008, 09:28 AM
I cannot seem to get any of the videos to work! It keepd saying that in my area there is no connection...help!

yaya
Aug. 11, 2008, 10:48 AM
Well, I kind of figured out a way to cheat and get the commentary update.

If I have a window in the background from the official Olympics site (not the NBC site) and keep bringing up the "order of go", it updates the commentary!

So every few minutes, I open up the order of go, and the commentary updates! As long as I don't wait too long, I can scroll down to the last comment I saw and read up from there.

Doesn't seem to work any other way without a total re-start, and then I get the GE ad and miss a lot of the rides. This way, the feed continues, but the commentary updates.

pintopiaffe
Aug. 13, 2008, 01:44 AM
Help--how can you watch without silverlight?

I have an older computer which has great speed. My laptop has all the 'required' platforms, but is deadly slow for some reason... even the modem is way faster, but connects quite a bit slower.

HOW are you getting the live feed *without* silverlight?

Hannahsmom
Aug. 13, 2008, 07:07 AM
Some of you may be having problems due to not enough memory. I have a laptop that is a couple of years old, but has 2.5 GB of memory. I was unable to get it to download on my work computer yesterday, even without Starlite so I'm guessing my work computer has some blocked features as well as different virus protection. So you may be having issues with memory, your various protection softwares (I only use open source protection), and or your broadband provider. I have noticed that in the last few days, probably as more people are logging in, the video is getting some pause moments so I am wondering if this is due to more traffic on the nbc site, or my home cable provider. It's all about the hardware and infrastructure after all.

yaya
Aug. 13, 2008, 07:28 AM
HOW are you getting the live feed *without* silverlight?

When I go to the videos page and click on Equestrian, a box comes up that says to download Silverlight, but there is a selection in the box that says "proceed without plugin". I click on that and it comes right up.

I'm not getting any pauses whatsoever. The only problem I get is the lack of commentary updates, but like I said above, if I keep hitting the order of go page, it updates the commentary. (Don't know why, it's not even a related website, but if it works, it works!)

ETA: Hmm, seems to be related to just bringing up a new window, any new window.

DownYonder
Aug. 13, 2008, 08:37 AM
I bypassed Silverlight, too, but it keeps stopping to buffer. I'm also getting a "I'm sorry, we are having a technical problem" message on occasion.

Does anyone have the scores for the first three rides? The play-by-play commentary only has the most recent ones and I missed Hans-Peter, Daniel, and Luiza.

yaya
Aug. 13, 2008, 10:00 AM
Here's the score page for Individual:
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/EQ/C73DB/EQX001900.shtml#EQX001901

And for team:
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/EQ/C73DB/EQX001900.shtml#EQX001901

yaya
Aug. 13, 2008, 10:00 AM
Wow. I must be lucky with my connection (DSL). Not using Silverlight, no buffering, no flickering, just doesn't update the live commentary unless I open a new window somewhere.

horsephotolady
Aug. 13, 2008, 10:08 AM
I'm SO bummed--thought I'd be able to catch some video at work, but I guess the vids don't work with Windows 2000??? That's what I have at work. I can get videos on my home computer, but I'm not home during the dressage! AND I don't get the cable channels that most of the dressage is shown on (Oxygen). My cable company doesn't even carry that channel. WHY can't they make it so the technologically challenged can access it? I was so much looking forward to being able to see SOME of it. CRYYYYYYY!!! :(

Hannahsmom
Aug. 13, 2008, 04:54 PM
I'm SO bummed--thought I'd be able to catch some video at work, but I guess the vids don't work with Windows 2000??? That's what I have at work. I can get videos on my home computer, but I'm not home during the dressage! AND I don't get the cable channels that most of the dressage is shown on (Oxygen). My cable company doesn't even carry that channel. WHY can't they make it so the technologically challenged can access it? I was so much looking forward to being able to see SOME of it. CRYYYYYYY!!! :(

You should be able to see it afterward on the video. Not the live feed, but the same video and commentary. So just watch it from home later. :)

Pony+ an inch
Aug. 13, 2008, 05:19 PM
ughhh anyone having trouble with getting silverlight to keep going without losing it and having to rebuffer every 15 seconds? Leave it to microsoft to be idiotic, per usual...