PDA

View Full Version : lost faith in easyboots

winona
May. 13, 2008, 08:34 AM
i have been using easyboot bares for a couple years now and have loved the freedom of hoof protection only when needed. i also love not being dependent on my farrier. i ride a lot of hard packed dirt roads and feel comfortable moving out w/ out fear of concussion problems.

unfortunately i had an incident and have lost faith. my horse and i ended up in deep mud while avoiding a car. she became nervous and we started out of the mud. she ended up leaping out and then rearing and taking off at a gallop. all of it is highly unusual for her. she is very experienced and is fine in mud. the car stopped quite aways from us so don't believe that was the issue.

two easy boot bares were torn off. these had new gaiters. i think they collected the mud and made it hard for her to move. i wonder if she reared and bolted because they were flopping against her legs? the only other time she half bolted was when a boot tore away from a gaiter (my fault as i knew it was starting to tear)

so now i don't know what i'm going to do. i will have a fear of mud for sure. i have ridden since age 10...now 40, and this was first major injury. i don't bounce so well anymore :winkgrin: i have a broken wrist and mushed face so have a few weeks before i have to decide anything. might need surgery which will delay it even further. i'll probably have to do shoes for awhile just because of pain issues.

any similar occurences? thanks for letting me vent

Auventera Two
May. 13, 2008, 09:10 AM