PDA

View Full Version : Fact or Fiction? Do monthly IM Adequan injections

grayarabpony
Feb. 6, 2008, 02:07 PM
really do any good? What has the literature shown overall? I was just over at horseadvice.com and the vet who runs the site claims that clinical studies have shown that monthly IM Adequan injections are basically useless. I have a biology degree but I have no desire to wade through all of the literature. Anyone here in the veterinary field or who has had an in-depth discussion with their vet care to chime in?

Thank you.

Diamondindykin
Feb. 6, 2008, 02:19 PM
My reining gelding is on monthly Adequan injections for mild arthritis. My vet told me that I am better off using Adequan rather than supplements because there are studies that prove that Adequan works where as there are very few studies proving that supplements work. My gelding was only mildly stiff when putting him on Adequan and he now has no stiffness.......for my gelding, I would say that it works.

lizathenag
Feb. 6, 2008, 02:23 PM
When I took my current OTTB off the track at age 6, I started him on Adequan (because I could afford it and my vet said it wouldn't hurt).

since then 6 years have passed and I stopped giving it to him as I was injured and we sort of forgot. . .

but he has been in training and I have been in training and correct gymnastic riding (I mean dressage) and 24 turnout has done the trick.

any unevenness is gone. we thought it would always be there.

ytr45
Feb. 6, 2008, 02:32 PM