View Full Version : What qualities in an Endurance/CTR prospect? And how much is that worth?

Jan. 17, 2008, 06:00 PM
I am giving up trying to fit a square peg into a round hole. I have an Appendix QH mare that I have been attempting to event for the past two years. I say attempt, because while she is fan-tab-u-lous out on XC, she hates-hates-hates to be in a ring- whether it is flatwork or jumping in a ring, she is tense, rushes, grinds her teeth (and YES, I have explored just about every pain route I can think of), gets "stuck" and "bounces"- kind of the precursor to bucking/ rearing, which she knows better than to try, but is definitely letting me know how she feels about being in that ring. In the ring she is generally an unhappy camper- and it is in no way fun for me either. We have done OK in eventing because she never refuses a jump, but she will never be competitive because her dressage is quite frankly, terrible.

She is awesomely awesome on trails. I do a lot of hacking and conditioning and she is mellow, relaxed, bright and interested, and generally a lot of fun to ride out on. She can go FOREVER. She doesn't spook at dogs, coyotes (we saw one just the other day!), mountain bikes, ditches, water...I hack her on the roads and cars/trucks/ bikes/ motorcycles all good.

She is a sweetie pie on the ground and an easy keeper. Can be a bit of a drama queen, but she handles all the "stuff" with competing very well- loading, shipping, getting off the trailer in a new place and being fine with it (as long as there is not a ring involved :D)

I ~think~ she could be a good endurance horse, but in reality I have no idea what endurance riders look for.