PDA

View Full Version : WOW! The difference that human boots make!

Rhiannonjk
Jan. 2, 2008, 09:50 PM
I have been riding for about 13 years now. 12 years ago, I bought a pair of used field boots on consignment that were customs for another person with wide calves. These were my show boots, and all other times I used half-chaps.

This past week, I picked up my custom Dehners. After staring at them in the box, and deciding that I would try them even though Dehner forgot to install the zippers, I brought them home with me. I put them on at my parent's house, and endured teasing from my father about never being able to get them off without zippers. The next morning, my parents were surprised that I hadn't slept with them :)

But today, I arrived back in Louisiana, and I RODE in them.

Oh. My. God. I'm doing 2nd level work, and I've done a lot of work on my position - but so many things that I fight just HAPPENED correctly with these boots. My toes no longer turned out. My leg stretched down (because if I pulled it up, it hurt - which I'm sure is a breaking-in issue). I honestly couldn't stop staring at myself in the mirrors (and giggling).

I just wanted to share this little revelation! I really was getting the boots befcause my old ones were DEAD and they would look pretty - how did I never consider all the real differences that new NICE boots would make?

EqTrainer
Jan. 2, 2008, 09:51 PM
Jingle, jingle.. Merry Xmas to you!

Rhiannonjk
Jan. 2, 2008, 09:54 PM
Thanks! I ddin't expect them to be a Christmas present when I ordered them in august.

But they were worth the wait.

Dressage (Pea)Nut
Jan. 2, 2008, 11:20 PM
I completely agree - tall boots all the way! I actually PREFER to wear my tall boots most of the time now - they give my lower leg more stability and helps me keep my legs longer. And once they're broken in, they're almost comfortable to ride in (ALMOST...LOL!!).

Ashby
Jan. 2, 2008, 11:34 PM