PDA

View Full Version : LongLining

ltw
Jan. 1, 2008, 05:14 PM
How many of you long line or double lunge with long lines? I have been doing this for a few years and think it is a great way to get a horse fit again going in straight lines and staying off a small lunge circle, especially if rehabbing an out of shape horse. I have also used with young green horses.

I like it for teaching them good self carriage, learning to use their hind end and half halts. Does anyone else use it as a training technique?

Mallard
Jan. 1, 2008, 05:51 PM
I have done it with all my youngsters just as a 'fun' thing to do!
It's way better than longing for babies and it teaches them to start, stop & steer as well as really focusing on the handler.

I had so much fun with the first horse I ever long-lined, that he ended up pulling our cutter around in his 2 and 3 yr old winters. FUN!

Just yesterday I long-lined my ConnemaraX.
We are very out of practice...it's been a couple of years for him.
However, he is a clever little guy and we managed to do some nice direction changes at the trot.
It is a nice change from going in circles and longing and it keeps the handler fit!

ideayoda
Jan. 1, 2008, 06:11 PM
I use it (almost) every day as a warm up, and certainly as a progressive way of training a youngster/re-training. The schooling progresses from lungeing (as youngsters) with side reins (to the caveson/then the bit). Then they learn to drive/halt/turn/change gaits. Then they are ridden. Later on in their training they work on lateral work/piaffe/etc on long lines as well. Ideally they always have a good surcingle (with a crupper and standing rings as well as many levels of D's). However, it takes years of work to develop skills for ease of work and knowing the if/thens which can happen.

Hampton Bay
Jan. 1, 2008, 06:59 PM