PDA

View Full Version : Dressage saddles you avoid

AlexMakowski
Dec. 23, 2007, 03:28 PM
Are there any brands or models of dressage saddles that you try to avoid because of personal experiences or by word of mouth?

I have been thinking for quite some time about purchasing a dressage saddle, but finding a quality one to fit a variety of horses may be a challenge.

Im new to dressage. So any comments would be appreaciated.

merrygoround
Dec. 23, 2007, 03:50 PM
I personally avoid Stubbens, I find them bulky under my leg. They may have changed since last I sat in one. I found their all purpose saddles the same.

3horsemom
Dec. 23, 2007, 03:54 PM
second that. i would also avoid a stubben.

Daydream Believer
Dec. 23, 2007, 03:54 PM
Wintec. I think they are very uncomfortable.

Equibrit
Dec. 23, 2007, 03:57 PM
It's pretty naive to imagine that you can find one saddle to FIT a variety of horses.

To find a saddle that fits the rider and one horse is a triumph.

ToN Farm
Dec. 23, 2007, 04:11 PM
Ditto Wintec or anything not made of quality leather. I'd probably avoid any saddle that did not have good resell value; i.e. an odd brand.

Sabovee
Dec. 23, 2007, 04:34 PM
I'm not a fan of Countys, Stubbens or Passiers.

enjoytheride
Dec. 23, 2007, 04:37 PM
I love my wintec, it fits my horse and was in my price range. I even show in it. Don't care that it isn't leather.

WindyIsles
Dec. 23, 2007, 04:42 PM
Ditto Wintec or anything not made of quality leather. I'd probably avoid any saddle that did not have good resell value; i.e. an odd brand.

Thirded Wintec.

onetempies
Dec. 23, 2007, 05:13 PM
Shleese, Wintec, & County WB 2000s. Anything else I'll look at in various lines but I do like Passiers and their ability to be adjusted easily by saddlefitters/makers.

ideayoda
Dec. 23, 2007, 05:26 PM