PDA

View Full Version : Call Me Clifton for sale?

TexasTB
Dec. 19, 2007, 09:51 PM
Anyone know why he is for sale? Is Donna no longer riding him?

BigRuss1996
Dec. 19, 2007, 09:57 PM
Not sure..... but according to his USEA record for 2007 his last event was a ** in August. He also has an owner that isn't the rider so maybe the owner wants to sell him??

Anyone know why he is for sale? Is Donna no longer riding him?

TexasTB
Dec. 19, 2007, 10:06 PM
The owner is Frances Stead, who runs Clifton Eventers over in New Zealand (www.eventers.co.nz). They make a business off of producing upper level potential horses, so Call Me Clifton has been somewhat of a poster child for them (and rightfully so!), which is why I'm surprised by their decision to sell him.

yellow rose
Dec. 19, 2007, 10:12 PM
you might have just answered your own question

it's a business

he's a four star horse and he ain't getting any younger..

Shrapnel
Dec. 19, 2007, 10:17 PM
Hey All -- I was a working student for Donna and got to work around webbie quite a bit.

This year, Donna didnt have a lot of success with him at Advanced and feels that he would be happier as a 2 star horse or something like that.

Donna is very good at feeling what is right for a horse at the right time. I know she loves webs dearly, but knows he would be happier at a lower level.

Boy, if I had the money....;)

Edited to add: Which website was he posted for sale on??

TexasTB
Dec. 19, 2007, 10:28 PM
Thanks Shrapnel :)

Good for her to recognize that her horse wasnt happy and make the tough decision to move him back. They were fun to watch though:yes:

InVA
Dec. 20, 2007, 10:49 AM
you might have just answered your own question

it's a business

he's a four star horse and he ain't getting any younger..

he's not that old is he? he was going advanced when he was 7...

snoopy
Dec. 20, 2007, 11:06 AM
he's not that old is he? he was going advanced when he was 7...

And probably why he doesn't want to "play four star" at 12.:(