PDA

View Full Version : Trainers showing Training Level???

StrawberryFrosted
Nov. 25, 2007, 10:25 PM
Ok, I would love to get your guy's opinions on why trainers would show training level....

I have seen this at numerous shows and don't understand it.
One example: trainer (who shows fourth level) gets on a student's horse and rides the horse in the Training level open class. Student rides same horse in the Training level novice rider class.
What is the point?? Student obviously can walk, trot, canter so why have the trainer ride the horse at all?

In the end, trainer gets Champion for year end awards in the Training level class and other riders get bumped because they actually ride Training level.

Is this common practice???

mbarrett
Nov. 25, 2007, 10:34 PM
I'm by no means an expert, but if there is an Open Training class, pros can enter it. "Open" means open to anyone, pros or ammy's. It could be the same thing if the class is "Maiden Horse". There isn't a restriction on who rides the horse, but on the level of the horse. I'm sure others who are more familiar with dressage class listings will give you a better answer.

It's not an uncommon occurance for a trainer to "tune up" a horse for an ammy rider. It happens in a lot of disciplines. Is it fair? Yes and no. It's just the way it is.

Cooper
Nov. 25, 2007, 10:35 PM
Maybe they are on a green bean, and want to give the horse the benefit of a confident ride.

Carol Ames
Nov. 25, 2007, 10:38 PM
Perhaps the horse needs more ring/show mileage; ie; he may wwin when he actually enters the arena/does not spook at the judge,;) but , it'seither win or the big 'E':lol:gren horse?. I admit to having had several horses like that.One who would consscontently "blow " the first class , but, then win the 2nd.

dutchmike
Nov. 25, 2007, 10:39 PM
If it is a green horse then what do you want the trainer to enter?. Grand Prix?. A green horse has to start somewhere but if it is a 4th level horse then ofcourse it shouldn't be allowed