PDA

View Full Version : New Amateur preliminary track? Rumors? Facts?

retreadeventer
Nov. 5, 2007, 08:56 AM
Does anyone have anything to say about the rumor that there might be a new amateur preliminary track being developed that eases the preliminary cross country course requirements, or changes them in some way? Seems to me I heard something about this and would appreciate any thoughts or a discussion about it. What have you heard? What exactly is it? Is it for anyone or only amateur riders?

tommygirl
Nov. 5, 2007, 09:14 AM
I would rather see a tougher training track to better prepare riders for the Prelim move up.

inquisitive
Nov. 5, 2007, 09:47 AM
I would rather see a tougher training track to better prepare riders for the Prelim move up.

Ditto
Leave the course specs as-is and have riders and trainers who are responsible enough to prepare properly. As an amateur, I would hope that people would think I am just as competent as a pro or YR. There is no reason to place emphasis on amateurs as 'incapable' or 'needing assistance'. I'm an ammy because of my age and the fact that my job is not horse-related, not for any other reason :rolleyes:

Hony
Nov. 5, 2007, 10:04 AM
I agree with the others. I would be personally offended to see this happen. I would never enter it in a million years. Going preliminary for an amateur is a BIG DEAL. I would feel like it were being downplayed if there was a course like this.
Going to the T3DE last year was like doing an upgraded T course. After that I was more than ready to do P. If some amateurs want an amateur prelim tell them to enter the T3DE.

Jazzy Lady
Nov. 5, 2007, 10:17 AM