PDA

View Full Version : Tom Dorrance techniques/confusing to dressage horse?

Lambie Boat
Oct. 7, 2007, 01:43 PM
I am talking about ground training before riding. I was having respect and boundary issues with my young one and called in a Dorrance-trained NH person. I have no background with this stuff, but what I was doing was not working. The trainer did a wonderful job and got horsie's attention within 5 minutes, and managed some good work. I'd like to know if anyone else has had experience with this school of training and what you think. Will it be confusing to the horse? (not gonna use it under saddle, when I think things like contact and cadence are too different)

Some different things:
I always lead the horse by walking by their shoulder. TD way is to walk way far in front, back turned, and lead with a very long rope. Horse stops when they stop.

when I lunge, I want the horse to stop on the circle and stand square, facing forward. TD way, the horse turns in and faces the trainer.

I was using a leather cavesson. TD way wants a rope halter with the lead attached (no snaps)

SillyMe
Oct. 7, 2007, 01:46 PM
Put your selt belts on!

DressageGeek "Ribbon Ho"
Oct. 7, 2007, 01:50 PM
When I lead, my trainer has taught me that self carriage begins ON THE GROUND. So I walk by his shoulder, and make sure that he is moving his hind end underneath him and carrying himself. I can't expect him to go into an arena and go, "Okay - arena time! Time for self carriage!" It has to happen all thetime, and it can't using the Dorrance technique.

When I lunge, I want my horse, again, to have self carriage and halt with his hind end underneath him, not on his forehand, and balanced and straight. If he turns to face me, he'll be crooked. After all, do you want to halt in a test that way? In addition - the halt shouldn't be "the end." From the halt, you should be able to do whatever you want - canter, walk, whatever. So you need to think of the halt as a moving gait.