PDA

View Full Version : T3D: Realistic goal??

gr8fulrider
Jul. 16, 2007, 03:14 PM
I've been posting about my lovely mare's progress since I bought her in February. We've gone from crossrails to intro (2'3"-- me) and BN (2'6"-- trainer) since then and I plan to finish the season with a couple of BN horse trials. Our picture is in my signature.

Anyway, when I was a wee one in the 80s I did training but there was no T3D and I never had a prelim-able (word?) horse. Now I'd love to do a T3D, but now I'm an adult amateur single working mother with a young horse.

Would you say that T3D is a reasonable goal for someone with a no-frills TB (she has been called "lovely" by 3 dressage judges and jumps nicely, but she is just a nice OTTB, 16hh), a full-time job, and a kid? My horse has good conformation and her movement gets better all of the time; she likes to jump and nothing scares her. The only thing is that she is, well, velocity-challenged.

Any other adult amateur re-riders out there done/shooting for a T3D? Pros and trainers-- have you gotten a student through this? Would you recommend having such a long-term goal, or just take one day at a time? I am of course focused on BN this year but I'd so like to set my eyes on a T3D in 2010 or 2011.

deltawave
Jul. 16, 2007, 04:12 PM
Oh my, yes!

She's a Thoroughbred and she raced. She can do steeplechase for a T3D (which is only 520mpm) with one hoof tied behind her back. Really. Even the SLOWEST racehorse does its daily workout--NOT speed work--at 800mpm. :) She doesn't have to learn how to gallop...she already knows. You just have to make it part of your training together so YOU are comfortable when she starts laying down a bigger stride. The jumps are NOTHING on steeplechase, mere speedbumps. And a TOTAL BLAST, besides. :D